These Fires Suck

Southern California is on fire! As of now there are a dozen fires burning and, with these strong winds a-blowin’, there’s sure to be more. I live in L.A., in a community that’s not built on a hillside in a high risk fire zone. Sure, we may not have the great views and the occasional deer frolicking in our backyard, but, at times like this, I don’t mind one bit. My friend Melissa and her family have been evacuated. They live near Magic Mountian. And my cousin Amy, and my aunt and uncle, all of whom live in small towns in the San Diego area, have been told to leave their homes as well. I’ve invited them all to come stay with us. We may not have enough beds for them to sleep in, but we do have leftover birthday cake, and cake is always nice. My thoughts and prayers go out to those families who have lost their homes. I’m so sorry for what you must be going through and I hope you have a lot of support to get you through this difficult time. I also hope you have a damn good insurance policy. If you ever need a shoulder to cry on, or a nice piece of cake, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

