It’s All A Big Scam

img_03111I’ve learned this weekend that there’s no actual “sleep” involved with an eleven year old “sleep”over birthday party. Not for me, and not for the kids. It’s the day after and I’m exhausted! But, when a girl turns the big one-one, a sleepover is the only way she wants to bring in the new year. 

I’m not the only one who’s exhausted.  So is my kid. But unlike me, she’ll never admit to it. I don’t know what is it about being a child that makes them refuse to admit that they’re ever tired? It’s like admitting to having killed a man or suffer from genital warts. To make matters worse, it’s never a good idea to mix sleep deprivation with a pre-teen who has more hormones than a gallon of convenience store milk.  

But it’s almost beddie bye time for me. Time to lie my head on my pillow, fall instantly asleep and wake up at four o’clock in the morning to toss and until the alarm goes off. Why do I do this? Because I’m perimenopausal and suffer from a LACK of hormones. If only there was a way to “catch” my daughter’s hormones like I did her common cold or head lice. Perhaps that could be the next thing medical science can focus on once it’s done figuring out the whole stem cell thing.

Leave a Reply

