Bonjour!

I just returned from a fabulous vacation to Paris. It was a trip of a lifetime where I ditched the hubby and kid, grabbed a gal-pal, and set off for ten days of walking, eating, shopping, museum-ing, and more eating! Oh, and then more shopping! And then of course, more eating! With my brushed up high school french, a pair of jeans and some cozy walking shoes, me and my friend covered the city, exploring all the windy roads and unique shops. We saved a fortune by renting an apartment and eating picnics from purchases from open air markets, that we had euros to spend on more important things: like a day trip to Monet’s Garden and regular wine and cheese trays at tantalizing cafes gazing at the passers-by and watching the sun set over historic palaces!
But alas, like all good things, this too came to an end, and I’m back at home doing piles of laundry and returning endless emails. With gifts to distribute to family and friends and wonderful moms in my “village” who covered my carpools and took care of my kid, I am making the final transition back to my regular life. Soon I will stop saying “excusez moi” when I bump into someone and to stop calculating euros to dollars when I look at a price, but I hope I never stop remembering the great sights, sounds, and smells of gay Paris! With any luck, I will return one day with my brushed up French and cozy shoes but this time, with my daughter, who will be old enough to enjoy the city of lights without whining about the lack of chicken nuggets and teen programs on Parisian TV. That too will be a trip of a lifetime!

One response to “Bonjour!

  1. Call me jealous! (How do you say that in French?) LOVE that you used the Metro stop as your illo…Hector Guimard is one of my very fave designers EVER and ’twas he who created the look for the metro stops.

    Knew I liked you!πŸ˜‰ Glad you’re home safe, and with great memories.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

